Thirteen Months Fourteen Days The Journey - Co B. 20th Engineers
 

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Story!, By John Paul Macke - review is from: Thirteen Months, Fourteen Days The Journey: Company B 20th Engineers Vietnam (Kindle Edition) The book details an Army engineers experiences in Vietnam. The author gives a uniquely different viewpoint of the war through this riveting story of courage and friendship. The story overall is upbeat and positive in the face of overwhelming hardship. There is some military terminology but it is explained well making the book an easy read regardless of your background. This is an excellent book that should be read by all.
 
 
Bill:                                                                                                                       Feb. 2011
I came back to work Tuesday.  When I went home at 6 a.m. I thought I would glance thru your book.  I made the mistake of reading the first couple of pages.  Then I could not put it down. Needless to say I went to work that night with no sleep.
The book was wonderful!  I don't remember when I have enjoyed a book more.  The last few pages I realized I was crying and couldn't decide if I was happy you were coming home or sad because the book had ended.
I can only imagine what it took for you to write it. My husband was a mess when he got back at the end of two tours.  Alcohol got the best of him and he never really recovered.
Thanks for writing this book.
                                                                            Joyce Fracek
Amazon.com
BySeth D- review is from: Thirteen Months, Fourteen Days The Journey: Company B 20th Engineers Vietnam (Kindle Edition) 5.0 out of 5 stars
This book is a real eye opener. It is huge in detail and amazing for someone who is now in the military to see what it was like for our brothers in arms during the Vietnam War. It is easy to read and I don’t ever want to put it down. I stay up at night just to read this book. I love it and hope there is more to come.
 
 
5.0 out of 5 stars Boo Coo Number 1!, January 27, 2011
By Ben G - This review is from: Thirteen Months, Fourteen Days The Journey (Paperback)
This book takes the reader with the author on an amazing journey to Vietnam from the perspective of an initially unwilling draftee. The author describes the events and places of his adventure with the practiced brevity and detail of an engineer, and yet so masterfully wraps the reader in the events and emotions of the time that the reader feels present in the story. The Journey endears the reader to the characters with its candid dialog and real portrayal of real people in war. The book is in fact quite an education as a small sample of the historical American ingenuity that has helped America win its wars and stay free for over 200 years. I tell you, these guys came up with the craziest ways to fix things and cobble together solutions to problems! And, of course, when they aren't otherwise occupied with building bridges, sweeping for mines, or dodging bullets, mortars, and rockets, all of that imagination has to go somewhere. And it does! Humor, pranks and mischief abound within these pages. I would like to think I was able to contain my laughter as I stayed up past midnight reading this page turner, but I think my wife would disagree.... Let me just warn you that some of the stunts these guys pulled will make you laugh so hard you will fear getting an aneurism! This book is an exceptional read and has whetted my appetite to find more stories like it!
 
 
"Thirteen Months, Fourteen Days The Journey, February 9, 2011
By Donn Richards "chad1019" (St. Louis, MO USA) -
(REAL NAME)   5.0 out of 5 stars
An incredible literary effort that brings the Vietnam war to the reader through the eyes of the young enlisted/NCO. Very good narrative describing the day to day struggles and frustrations of our soldiers as a war is politically maneuvered into defeat. This book should be required reading for every OCS candidate as well as every West Point and ROTC cadet. I hope Mr. Mattatall will write a sequel describing his journey back into a civilian life that in many ways was more hostile to the Vietnam veteran than was Vietnam.
5.0 out of 5 stars Cherry boy number 1, March 2, 2011
 
 
Bill takes you on a journey through the draft and his experience in Viet Nam. Many brushes with death, and many smiles, and a few tears are shared by this master story teller. It's a good read, spurs many memories, and gives a good incite to the daily stress and run-a-round of our fair army.
 
 
Excellent, February 7, 2011
By rich - 5.0 out of 5 stars This review is from: Thirteen Months, Fourteen Days The Journey (Paperback)
This book is an excellent read from a common soldiers perspective. Sgt Mattatall (main character) writes from his own experience of being drafted into an unpopular war during the late 60' and early 70'. Such an unpopular war that what happens at the end to him is disgusting and completely unfair(read the book to see what I mean). A lot of books/movies have been made about the Vietnam war mostly from an officer or outsiders point of view. This book takes you deep into what it was like for the ordinary soldier to experience outside the relative safety of the compound, to the point where your sleeping on the ground, or in, or under, your own vehicles for protection from the weather and hostile fire.
If you really want an insider's view on what the war was about from an enlisted point of view, then this book is for you!
Enlightening read., February 18, 2011
 
 
By Pat C - 5.0 out of 5 stars This review is from: Thirteen Months, Fourteen Days The Journey (Paperback)
Bill Mattatall and I are of the same generation. We grew up in the same community, although we did not know each other back then. We are both veterans who served in the military during the same time period. Just like Bill I was reluctant to serve after losing my deferment. My family was able to exert influence that diverted my path from the army to the air force. I spent most of my four year committment in Germany. I have always felt a twinge of guilt for the influence that kept me out of harms way. I have always wondered what it was really like for those who served in Viet Nam. I think I now know what it must have been like to be there. Bill has written this account without rancor and with no agenda other than to tell his story. I truly appreciate Bills service and all the others who served, particularly those that lost life or limb in our behalf.
Borrowed from a friend and was hooked!, March 8, 2011
 
 
By Christopher B. Smith - 5.0 out of 5 stars
(REAL NAME)  This review is from: Thirteen Months, Fourteen Days The Journey (Paperback)
I borrowed this from a friend and was hooked from the moment I began reading. I had grown up with my parent's generation talking about Vietnam and hearing some news clips. However, this book really helped me picture and understand some of the experiences of American Servicemembers overseas. I appreciated hearing about the negative events without the gory detail. I certainly plan on getting my own copy.
 
 
A Real Page Turner, April 30, 2011
5.0 out of 5 stars
Sgt. Mattatall tells a gripping tale of a single soldiers experience in Viet Nam. His story chronicles the experiences of an unwilling draftee from the Midwest who changes into a hardened war veteran in just thirteen months and fourteen days. Sgt. Mattatall tells his story from his apolitical view as a soldier doing his job in difficult times. He describes the events in a way that has the ready hanging on every word. The biggest challenge in reading this book is stopping long enough to eat and sleep.
 
 
5.0 out of 5 stars I was there, in the sky!, March 9, 2011
By Buz Sawyer - This review is from: Thirteen Months, Fourteen Days The Journey (Paperback)
Bill Mattatall has given us the GI's view from the combat engineer's eyes. He brushes off his "close calls" with death without self aggrandizement or claiming the hero, but in a self effacing, matter-of-fact manner. Encounters with deadly snakes; surviving surprise enemy mortar, rocket, and machine gun attacks; manning small arms and maching guns to repel enemies seeking to overrun his platoon; were part of the daily life or death struggle. Under all this stress, Bill proved a leader of men in assuring their survival while doing the construction of bridges, airfields, and living compounds that enabled ground and air combat personnel to fight the war at the best possible advantage. I was there a little earlier, in 1963 and 1964, as a FAC flying Bird Dogs with the VNAF. I flew cover, and led air strikes, to save the bacon of outfits like Bill's. His book caused me to re-live my personal combat experiences and led to some sleepless nights as I recalled them. My hat is off to Bill and the troops he lived with and wrote about. One could not find a more honest tell-it-like-it-was story. Still he does it with more than typical GI humor. This book should be in every library in the United states and should be on the recommended reading list of each of the Chiefs-of-Staff of the armed services. It should be on the reading list of the Military Academys and all of the JRROTC and ROTC detachments in our high schools and higher institutions of learning. I couldn't put it down and promise the same level of interest to any military oriented/interested reader. Thanks Billy, you have my greatest admiration and respect for your life and your service to our country. We are patriot brothers. Sgt. Mattatall, you're all right!
 
 
4.0 out of 5 stars A Soldier's View, June 11, 2011
This book is a first person view of the mid-years of the Vietnam War. The author was the average kid from the heartland without strong political views but with a sense of duty that led him to answer his country's call much like thousands of his generation and of generations earlier. Bill leads us through the process of entering the military, basic and advanced training, and deployment to the war zone. He addresses the problems of race relations, drug use, GI-Vietnamese relations, personal achievement and the excitement and horror of combat by bringing the reader into his circles of friends and fellow soldiers mostly through recalled conversations and personal thoughts. Altogether, this was a book that was hard to put down until finished. As a veteran of that same era, I could appreciate the un-embellished way he told the story without either glorifying war or belittling the efforts and risks of the commons soldiers of the Vietnam War.
 
 
5 out of 5 stars Thirteen months fourteen days, the jouney, July 25, 2011
This author has the unique ability to write personally about his experiences. It made me feel like he was relating his story to me in person. I was amazed at the attention to detail and the information that was related. It was not just another war story about the action and killings. There was a personal aspect that revealed the human character and integrity that existed even in a war. I recommend this book to anyone as it can be enjoyed by all who choose to join with the author and walk along with him on his journey.
 
 
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Read, June 30, 2011
By William V. McDonald (Herndon, VA USA) –
This review is from: Thirteen Months, Fourteen Days The Journey (Paperback)
I bought this book not knowing what to expect. I was very pleased to find this book interesting and enlightening. The book gives an authentic, first-hand account of a person's experience going through the draft, training, and deploying to Vietnam. The author has done a very good job recalling his experiences and making the reader become a first-hand witness to these events. I thoroughly appreciated the insight that is without opinion as to the politics just the plain and raw feelings of a person who was there. I highly commend this book to anyone who desires to know what it was really like to be in Vietnam and understand the role and life a a combat engineer.
 
 
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy read and makes you feel like you are there., June 27, 2011
By Norma Hamilton (Browns,Il) - (REAL NAME)
This review is from: Thirteen Months, Fourteen Days The Journey (Paperback)
Couldn't put the book down. The author, Bill Mattatall, had me on the edge of my chair as I followed his journey through Vietnam. He made me feel as if I were on the journey with him. I followed along as he went through all the paces, I felt his joy, his pain, his feeling of accomplishment. I could tell he was proud to serve the USA and he was able to engineer many solutions to the problems that arose. I learned a lot about the people of Vietnam and their traditions and struggles in life. My brother served during this war time and Bill's accounts of the war were very similar to his. Everyone should purchase a copy then sit back and enjoy the journey.
 
 
5 out of 5 stars Review of Bill Mattatall's book, August 22, 2011
By el papacito - This review is from: Thirteen Months, Fourteen Days The Journey (Hardcover)
I have never served in the military and was not sure what to expect when I picked up the book. Once I started reading it, I had difficulty putting it down. The book records the experiences of a young soldier who was apolitical, would rather have stayed home, but when he was called, served his country faithfully. His construction group faced many challenges in Vietnam, and I was impressed with their resourcefulness in building many kinds of structures to support the troops under difficult conditions. They were often the targets of a determined enemy and had their share of combat experience. I now understand better that the success of our military can often be attributed to the determination and ingenuity of the regular soldier who does his best to support his buddies during the conflict. We owe a lot to these unsung heroes who, without fanfare, have quietly endured trials and privations that our country might remain free. Thanks to Bill for helping me get a better appreciation of what sacrifices our soldiers have made for our country. I highly recommend the book as it provides a unique perspective of one soldier who accomplished some amazing things in a far way country caught up in the insanity of war.
 
 
5.0 out of 5 stars Not another Vietnam book...no its not..., August 1, 2011
By Tom - bee apprentice - This review is from: Thirteen Months, Fourteen Days The Journey (Hardcover)
If you are looking for another reason to think that the Vietnam war was nothing but politics and drugs and negativity...buy a different book. If you are looking for a fresh and wonderful story of someone who was there and made the best of what hand he was dealt then buy and read this book. This book is not a polished, smoothly written novel that you may be use to reading, it is a wonderfully raw, get it down on paper to share, type of book and thank you Bill for writing it. As I read the book, I felt like I was at a party or family reunion and just happen to bump into this fellow who is telling me his story about the experiences he had in Vietnam. It is kind of like Forest Gump, the stories are genuine and exciting and I felt myself asking "Oh my gosh, what is going to happen next." All I can say, if you are reading the reviews, is buy this book, I don't think you can go wrong.
          
Barnes and Noble:  All 5 star reviews!
Thirteen Months Fourteen Days, The Journey,
By barbara47 –   Customer Rating
What a positive approach to a negative situation. It is good, clean, wholesome fun; absolutely nothing offensive. There is something for everyone, a little romance, action, intrigue, and lots of humor. As I read the book I kept thinking of "MASH". You won't be disappointed.
 
 
Highly Recommended - a must read!
By JamesEJones -    Customer Rating
Posted March 23, 2011, 12:18 PM EST: Billy Mattatall has given an excellent depiction of his experience in an engineering company in Viet Nam. Especially interesting was the author's relationships with his fellow soldiers and superiors. I couldn't put the book down once I started reading. This book went a long way toward helping me understanding the dangers and complexities of the Viet Nam era. I would recommend Thirteen Months, Fourteen Days to anyone who is interested in a story of war and meaningful relationships. James E. Jones
 
 
By BIGR57   -   Customer Rating
Highly Recommend - a definite must read
This is such an easy book to read; from the very beginning I was hooked. It takes you on an adventure through a soldier’s eyes. It gives insight to the emotions you go through, it takes you through good times and bad. It reminds you how quickly life can change. Having served in the military it reminded me of those who I served with and how important those relationships were and still are today. READ IT !!!! You won’t be let down....
 
 
FHTribunewriter  -   Customer Rating
Could Not Stop In the Middle of Reading It
It's fast moving, it's exciting, it's enlightening. William E. Mattatall, with this book, has provided a close up, you-feel-like-you were-right-there-with-him account of the time period, the conditions and the feelings that were the war in Viet Nam. If you have lived in this era, even if you did not serve over there, you will recollect many of the feelings, attitudes and ideas expressed in this book. No, it is not an anti-Viet Nam war protest book. Instead it is a highly detailed trip from home through the military draft process and over to Viet Nam during the height of the conflict. You will experience the brotherhood that evolves so naturally among people engaged in battle and you will learn what it was really like to try to survive in this environment.
 
 
Highly Recommended
Really enjoyed reading this book. Bill captured his experiences and feelings about the Viet Nam War that could be shared by all veterans during that time in our history. Some of Bill's travel's through the Central Highlands brought back some memories of the areas when I was stationed in the Central Highlands during 67-68 . Again, I enjoyed the book and would recommend it to anyone that enjoys reading about the personal experiences of a GI
August 6, 2011
 
 
A Compelling Story
This a most compelling story. It is writen from one man's expeiences and takes you along on a day to day journey. There is a real feeling to eing in the middle of events. No one I knew wanted to talk about what actually happened while on tour. I did not realize some of the things that happened. A very good book. No one should pass this by.
August 1, 2011
 
 
Not another Vietnam book...no its not...
If you are looking for another reason to think that the Vietnam war was nothing but politics and drugs and negativity...buy a different book. If you are looking for a fresh and wonderful story of someone who was there and made the best of what hand he was dealt then buy and read this book. This book is not a polished, smoothly written novel that you may be use to reading, it is a wonderfully raw, get it down on paper to share, type of book and thank you Bill for writing it. As I read the book, I felt like I was at a party or family reunion and just happen to bump into this fellow who is telling me his story about the experiences he had in Vietnam. It is kind of like Forest Gump, the stories are genuine and exciting and I felt myself asking "Oh my gosh, what is going to happen next." All I can say, if you are reading the reviews, is buy this book, I don't think you can go wrong.
July 18, 2011
 
 
A very good book!! Highly Recommended!!
I recommend this book to everyone! It was very easy to read and very enjoyable. It was easy to find myself in the experiences of the author and it became a personal thing. It was a very unique way of describing the very difficult events of that war as seen from a first hand and personal experience. A great read!
July 5, 2011
 
 
Great Book!! I highly recommend it.
I was a young teenager when the Viet Nam war started. I had 2 brothers who served there. I only heard bad things about the people and the country. I decided to read this book and see if anything was different than I had heard. I loved the book. I could not put it down. Bill Mattatal's descriptions of boot camp at Fort Leonard Wood brought back so may memories for my husband. I would read it to him and he would talk about the things that were in the book. I think it is amazing that so far from his home he would meet a person who knew his grandfather. I was amazed that he tried to find good things to tell. It was a step by step trip for me and I loved it. I wish my brother were here for me to talk to about the book. I also felt ashamed when I read the part about someone spitting in his face. We owe the men from every war a debt we can never repay. I loved the book and would recommend it to everyone.
 
FACEBOOK
Robb BledsoeBill is a great story teller. His book is full of smiles and chuckles, and a few belly laughs. He tells the lighter side of war and the dirty side as well. Let him take you on his journey through a year of the Viet Nam war.
 
Randy Allan
"This is a great book, so easy to connect to and read, anyone who has served in the military should read it, even though I never served in Vietnam. I can relate to the experiences in the book and it brought back fond memories of my own military service."
Website provided by  Vistaprint
Website
provided by Vistaprint